Chief Whip’s Office

Hon. Chief Whip Cllr. M. Mthobela

The Chief Whip

Councillor, Mcebisi R.  Mtobela is another seasoned member of the Council.  He joined the municipality after the 5th December 2000 election as a Ward Councillor for Ward 06 for three terms. He has also served the Council in different capacities under Mayor, M.P. Diniso and Mayor T. Sokanyile respectively.  He began his role as a Chief Whip in the 2011/2016 term.  He brings in a lot of experience and Institutional memory in the Troika as he is in his second term as a Chief Whip.  He has also advanced his qualifications by acquiring a Diploma in Local Government Law and Administration at the University of Fort Hare.